In this article
← All articles
Investment allocation

ADIA's asset allocation: the ranges behind Abu Dhabi's fund


ADIA's 2025 Review, published on 10 September 2026, gives ranges instead of holdings: developed equities 32-42%, private equity 15-20% and cash 0-5% of the portfolio. The Abu Dhabi Investment Authority does not state the total amount it manages.

What it does publish is a range for each asset class and region, the share it manages externally and through index replication, and its 20-year and 30-year annualised returns. They reveal a portfolio process, but not its full risk or cash demands. For a household, the useful starting point is the spending the investments must fund.

Key takeaways

  1. Allocation ranges are not holdings. Developed equities have a 32-42% range and private equity 15-20%; the permitted bands do not reveal the actual weights and do not total 100%.
  2. A twenty-year return cannot reveal a crash. ADIA reported 6.6% annualised over twenty years to 2025, but does not publish the annual path, cost basis or return currency needed for a full comparison.
  3. A long horizon does not eliminate withdrawals. ADIA must return government funds as needed and says it has no visibility on government spending requirements; build a household liquidity plan from your own obligations.

What is ADIA's asset allocation?

ADIA's latest published allocation is a set of minimum and maximum ranges in its 2025 Review: developed equities 32-42%, private equity 15-20%, emerging-market equities 7-15% and government bonds 7-15%. ADIA calls this its long-term strategy portfolio and notes that it shows "ranges within which allocations can fluctuate; hence, they do not total 100%" (2025 Review, PDF p. 5).

ADIA's asset-class ranges. Long-term strategy portfolio, % | 2025 Review. Developed equities: Minimum 32%, Maximum 42%; Private equity: Minimum 15%, Maximum 20%; Emerging-market equities: Minimum 7%, Maximum 15%; Government bonds: Minimum 7%, Maximum 15%; Financial alternatives: Minimum 7%, Maximum 12%; Credit: Minimum 2%, Maximum 7%; Real estate: Minimum 2%, Maximum 7%; Infrastructure: Minimum 2%, Maximum 7%; Small-cap equities: Minimum 1%, Maximum 5%; Cash: Minimum 0%, Maximum 5%. Ranges, not holdings; they do not total 100%.

2025 Review ranges: developed equities 32-42%; private equity 15-20%; emerging-market equities 7-15%; government bonds 7-15%; financial alternatives 7-12%; credit 2-7%; real estate 2-7%; infrastructure 2-7%; small-cap equities 1-5%; cash 0-5%. Source: ADIA 2025 Review, "Portfolio by Asset Class", PDF p. 5 (printed p. 8); chart data (CSV). A range is permission, not a position: the review does not say where inside each band the portfolio sat at 31 December 2025.

ADIA describes how the ranges are built on its investment strategy page. It starts by "defining our risk appetite, calibrated through a blend of publicly traded securities known as the Reference Portfolio". It then sets a strategic asset allocation across "more than two dozen asset classes and sub-categories", which it says should give higher expected returns than the Reference Portfolio for a similar level of risk. The same site defines financial alternatives as "hedge funds and managed futures" (ADIA investments page).

What changed in the 2025 Review?

Three ranges changed in 2025: private equity rose from 12-17% to 15-20%, financial alternatives from 5-10% to 7-12%, and real estate fell from 5-10% to 2-7%. The Managing Director's letter says the real estate range "declined slightly due to the relative growth of other asset classes in recent years" and that "absolute exposure to real estate remained steady" (2025 Review, PDF p. 3).

ADIA's general strategy page still showed the older private equity range of 12-17% when we checked on 3 November 2026, so the review is the more recent source.

The review also describes activity inside private equity. Its Private Equities Department agreed the sale of its stakes in Pension Insurance Corporation and IFCO, took part in selected GP-led secondaries transactions, and joined a consortium for the take-private of Hologic (2025 Review, PDF p. 10). It gives no values for these transactions.

Where does ADIA invest by region?

ADIA's 2025 regional ranges are North America 45-60%, Europe 15-30%, emerging markets 10-20% and developed Asia 5-10%. The web edition of the review adds that "as a matter of practice, ADIA does not invest in the UAE" (2025 Review, web edition).

ADIA's regional ranges. Long-term strategy portfolio, % | 2025 Review. North America: Minimum 45%, Maximum 60%; Europe: Minimum 15%, Maximum 30%; Emerging markets: Minimum 10%, Maximum 20%; Developed Asia: Minimum 5%, Maximum 10%. Ranges, not holdings; ADIA does not invest in the UAE.

2025 Review regional ranges: North America 45-60%; Europe 15-30%; emerging markets 10-20%; developed Asia 5-10%. Source: ADIA 2025 Review, "Portfolio by Geography" and PDF p. 5 (printed p. 9); chart data (CSV). North America has the highest floor: at its 45% minimum it is still above Europe's 30% maximum.

GIC's portfolio study shows a similar tilt towards the Americas, reported there as an actual share rather than a range.

How much of ADIA is managed externally or indexed?

At the time of its 2025 Review, ADIA managed 63% of its portfolio internally and 37% through external managers, and held 43% in index replication against 57% actively managed. The two splits appear as charts headed "Internal versus External Management" and "Active Management versus Index Replication" in the Managing Director's letter (2025 Review, PDF p. 4 (printed p. 7)). The review does not state a measurement date for these shares.

  • Who manages it: 63% internal, 37% external.
  • How it is managed: 57% active, 43% index replication.

The letter explains how the indexed part supports liquidity. Through its Core Portfolio Department, ADIA has "a single, consolidated view of its total balance sheet across cash, fixed income and indexed equities", which lets it "fund investment strategies with different risk-return profiles while maintaining sufficient liquidity across the portfolio". In plain terms, a large pool of liquid holdings is the account from which more active and less liquid strategies are funded.

How has ADIA performed?

ADIA reported annualised returns of 6.6% over 20 years and 7.2% over 30 years to 31 December 2025, against 6.3% and 7.1% a year earlier. ADIA measures performance "based on underlying audited financial data and calculated on a time-weighted basis", and says the 2025 figure "remains provisional until final data for non-listed assets is included" (2025 Review, PDF p. 3).

ADIA's 20- and 30-year returns. Annualised, to 31 December of each year. 2018: 20-year 5.4%, 30-year 6.5%; 2019: 20-year 4.8%, 30-year 6.6%; 2020: 20-year 6.0%, 30-year 7.2%; 2021: 20-year 7.3%, 30-year 7.3%; 2022: 20-year 7.1%, 30-year 7.0%; 2023: 20-year 6.4%, 30-year 6.8%; 2024: 20-year 6.3%, 30-year 7.1%; 2025: 20-year 6.6%, 30-year 7.2%. ADIA publishes no single-year returns; 2025 is provisional.

Annualised 20-year and 30-year returns to 31 December: 2018, 5.4% and 6.5%; 2019, 4.8% and 6.6%; 2020, 6.0% and 7.2%; 2021, 7.3% and 7.3%; 2022, 7.1% and 7.0%; 2023, 6.4% and 6.8%; 2024, 6.3% and 7.1%; 2025, 6.6% and 7.2%. Source: Managing Director's letters in the ADIA Reviews for 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025; chart data (CSV). The reviews do not state the currency of these returns or whether they are before inflation, so we do not compare them with any index.

These are rolling averages, and ADIA says so itself. In 2019 the 20-year figure fell to 4.8%, which the review attributes to "the exclusion from the rolling average of strong gains in the late 1990s" (2019 Review, PDF p. 4).

In 2022, when "events in 2022 served as a potent reminder of the ability of financial markets to surprise" in the review's words, the 20-year figure moved only from 7.3% to 7.1% (2022 Review, PDF p. 4). A 20-year average absorbs one bad year among twenty, so the published series cannot show how far ADIA fell in 2008 or 2022.

What can ADIA's funding tell us?

ADIA has a long investment horizon, but its published framework does not establish that it can avoid sales during every crash. Its governance page says government funding is initially surplus to fiscal requirements and that ADIA must return funds "as needed". It also says ADIA "has no visibility on the spending requirements of the Government". An unpublished withdrawal schedule is therefore a limit to our knowledge, not evidence that withdrawal risk is absent.

ADIA's 2025 Review describes a consolidated pool of cash, fixed income and indexed equities that funds its other strategies while maintaining liquidity. Its allocation bands allow weights to fluctuate, but the disclosures do not establish how much can be spent during a particular stress event.

Household obligations are usually easier to identify: living costs, debt payments and planned purchases. List those before deciding how much can remain invested through a fall. Our cash and withdrawals model shows how selling to fund spending affects the recovery of a balance.

What do ADIA's ranges mean for crash risk and compounded growth?

ADIA's ranges permit substantial equity and private-equity exposure; they do not reveal its drawdown or the sales made during a fall.

Compounding works on the path, not the average. A gain of 50% followed by a loss of 50% turns 100 into 75, although the simple average of the two returns is zero.

ADIA's 20-year and 30-year figures are already annualised geometric averages, which is why they are the right measure of long-run growth; what they omit is the drawdown an investor would have had to sit through. Our Harvard endowment study shows what an annual series reveals: a 27.3% loss in the year to June 2009, followed by a recovery that took several years.

The broader point for households is that the ability to keep compounding through a loss depends on liabilities and liquidity, not only on the mix of assets. Our resilient portfolio allocation guide separates reduced equity exposure, diversification and explicit crash protection.

What does copio think of this portfolio?

ADIA's process is more useful to a household than a guessed allocation built from its ranges. Its 6.6% twenty-year return does not reveal the drawdowns or withdrawals along the way, and its government can request money as needed. The published information therefore cannot establish that ADIA is free from forced-sale risk. Copio does not grade it: allocation ranges are not holdings, and private assets cannot be entered cleanly as listed-fund substitutes.

Three checks for your portfolio

  1. Build a spending and liquidity map. List essential outgoings, possible income interruptions and large planned purchases by date. Against each, identify money accessible within a week, within a year or only after a lockup. Repeat the comparison after an equity fall; this tests your capacity to wait without assuming that a long investment horizon pays the bills.
  2. Turn ranges into a rule for your actual holdings. Write current and intended weights, a permissible deviation and the action a breach would trigger. Check that intended weights total 100%, including cash. Do not add ADIA's upper bounds or treat their midpoints as a disclosed portfolio; they describe permitted room, not the positions held.
  3. Ask for the return path before adding an illiquid investment. Obtain annual returns, valuation dates, fees, withdrawal terms and the worst observed drawdown where available. Record what remains unknown rather than filling the gap with a smooth twenty-year average. Check whether a private holding adds a different economic exposure or another ownership claim on the same companies and economy.

Our cash and withdrawals model and Harvard study show why liquidity and valuation timing belong beside allocation weights.


Sources and method

Check date: 3 November 2026. ADIA's publications page dates the 2025 Review to 10 September 2026; it is the latest review published.

  • ADIA, 2025 Review (PDF): PDF p. 3 (printed pp. 4-5, 20-year and 30-year returns, range changes, real estate explanation), p. 4 (printed pp. 6-7, Core Portfolio Department, internal and external split, active and index split), p. 5 (printed pp. 8-9, asset-class and regional ranges), p. 10 (private equity activity).
  • ADIA, 2025 Review web edition (regional ranges, UAE footnote) and publications page (release date).
  • ADIA Reviews 2018 (PDF p. 5), 2019 (p. 4), 2020 (p. 5), 2021 (p. 6), 2022 (p. 4), 2023 (p. 3) and 2024 (p. 3): 20-year and 30-year returns in each Managing Director's letter.
  • ADIA, investment strategy (Reference Portfolio, strategic asset allocation, older ranges), investments (definition of financial alternatives) and governance (funding, withdrawals, reserves status).

The ranges are policy limits, not holdings, and ADIA states that they do not total 100%; we do not add them up or use midpoints as weights. ADIA does not publish its total assets, single-year returns, drawdowns, the currency of its returns, whether they are net of costs, or a date for its internal and external split; we use no press estimates for any of these.

Copio's portfolio checker does not grade ADIA, because a replica would need listed funds standing in for its private equity, hedge fund, real estate and infrastructure ranges. The 2018 return is stated as "in 2018" in the 2018 Review; the 2019 Review confirms the same figures for 2018. This article is educational, not personalised investment advice.

FAQ

What is ADIA's asset allocation?

ADIA publishes ranges rather than a single allocation. Its 2025 Review, published on 10 September 2026, sets developed equities at 32-42%, private equity at 15-20%, emerging-market equities at 7-15%, government bonds at 7-15%, financial alternatives at 7-12%, credit, real estate and infrastructure at 2-7% each, small-cap equities at 1-5% and cash at 0-5%. ADIA says the ranges do not total 100%.

How much money does ADIA manage?

ADIA does not state its total assets in its 2025 Review or on the strategy and governance pages we checked. This article uses no press estimate of its size, because none can be checked against an ADIA document.

What return has ADIA earned?

ADIA reported annualised returns of 6.6% over 20 years and 7.2% over 30 years to 31 December 2025, measured point to point on a time-weighted basis. The 2025 figure is provisional until final data for unlisted assets is included. ADIA does not publish single-year returns.

How much of ADIA's portfolio is managed externally or indexed?

ADIA's 2025 Review shows 37% of the portfolio managed externally and 63% internally, and 43% in index replication against 57% actively managed.

Does ADIA have to return money during a crash?

Its long horizon does not establish freedom from forced sales. ADIA must return funds to the Abu Dhabi government as needed and says it has no visibility on government spending requirements. A household should compare its own spending dates with accessible assets rather than infer liquidity from an institutional allocation.